Vermont Public Safety Broadband Commission

The Vermont Public Safety Broadband Network Commission was created to help plan, develop, and implement a public safety broadband network to support the communication needs of first responders.

Executive Order

The Commission's goal is to help implement a broadband network that meets the interoperability goals and specifications of the FirstNet nationwide public safety broadband network. The Commission is charged with advising the Governor on issues related to the network and is to report to the Governor annually on the implementation progress of the national network.  The Commission is also responsible for reporting on the use of grant money received in Vermont for the purpose of building a public safety broadband network. Vermont received grant money through the State and Local Implementation Grant Program (SLIGP) administered by the National Telecommunications & Information Administration. To view details of the award and current reports, go to .

The Commission is comprised of dedicated members who meet on a regular basis to help Vermont plan for the design, development, and operations of the Nationwide Public Safety Broadband Network, which is the nation's first ever dedicated public safety broadband network. Vermont's planning and outreach efforts have been focused on working with first responders to gather feedback about unique communications challenges, coverage and capacity needs, and user requirements.  

Annual Reports

Commission Members

Terry LaValley 
Single Point of Contact (SPOC), Chair
Director of Radio Technology Services, Department of Public Safety 

Robert T. White 
Senior Manager III,  Agency of Transportation 

Alton Barber
VT Fire Chiefs Association
Chief, Hinesburg Fire Department

Frank Costantino
ERP Technical Services Director, Agency of Digital Services 

Chris Herrick
Deputy Commissioner, Department of Public Safety

Steven Locke
Professional Firefighters of Vermont
Chief, Burlington Fire Department

Jim Porter
Director of Public Advocacy, Department of Public Service

Douglas Johnston
Chief, Springfield Police Department

Barb Neal
Executive Director,  E 9-1-1 Board 

Captain Thomas Hango
Vermont State Police Emergency Communications Commander

Dan Manz
Retired, Executive Director, Essex Rescue, Vermont Ambulance Association

Kenneth Jones
Agency of Commerce and Community Development

Ron Kumetz
1st Assistant Chief, Alburgh Volunteer Fire Department
Vermont State Firefighters' Association


Public Safety Broadband Network Commission
Department of Public Safety
45 State Drive Waterbury, VT 05671
(802) 241-5535/ Email the PSBC

Visit the national FirstNet web site at: